Maryland has new traffic laws going into effect on October 1, 2013, and the Maryland State Police want to make sure everyone is aware of the changes.
First, effective Oct. 1, it will become a primary offense for drivers to use hand-held cellphones while driving. This means that using your cellphone ALONE is a reason that a police officer can pull you over. First time offense will be a $75 fine, $125 for a second offense, and a third would be $175.
Also new is that all motor vehicle occupants must wear seat belts, and it will be against the law to drive a motor vehicle transporting more people in a vehicle than the number of seat belts. The fine will be $50 per passenger not restrained in a seat belt. This means ALL PASSENGERS MUST wear seatbelts.
Finally, the mandatory use of child safety seats will be extended to apply to the transportation of all children younger than the age of eight, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller.
Thank you to WBAL TV11′s article with the details on the new laws.
Be careful and know the rules of the road with the new Maryland Traffic Laws!Tags: Baltimore, Distracted Driving, Distracted Driving Law, Hands Free Maryland, Maryland, New Maryland traffic laws